I choose you at your worst.

People tend to leave when the situation is not beneficial to them. You will know who the real ones are when they choose to stay even at your darkest days. They won’t judge you. They are willing to offer you a wholehearted acceptance.

 And I’m telling you I’m one of them. I’m choosing to stay.

When people asked how we’ve met I always say that it was a sunny day for me and a gloomy night for you because I’ve met you at your most vulnerable darkest night. Your problems were chasing you. They occupied your mind that you didn’t see me coming. I sat next to you but you just glanced at my side. Your mind was running at its fastest speed. At first, I thought that in order for you to notice me I need to chase you. If you’re running at 100kph I need to run at least 80kph, so I run as fast as I could. My heart was beating so fast I thought it was a good sign, but it wasn’t. Eventually I grew tired. Disappointment was consuming me. We’re drifting apart. I was scared. I am used to people leaving me but not you. I don’t want to lose you so I change my approach. Instead of chasing you, I just sat next to you offering my warmest silence because when I finally stop chasing you I realized that the thing that you need the most is a place where you can rest all your worries. A sanctuary where you can finally breathe all your troubles. My warmest silence will comfort you in your darkest days. You can rest your head on my chest and have a good sleep. My hands may be cold at times but it can cool your body when you feel like problems were burning you up. I may not be good at directions but in your darkest night I can light up your way and guide you, you just need to hold my hand and trust me.

I may not enter your world fully because of the walls that you built but one thing I can assure you of is that I will continue sitting next to you. I will stay here until you yourself will bring those walls down. Until you can finally say to me that “I’m glad, I’m home now.”

 

Leave a Reply

